Recommandation 8.2-2018

Recommendation 8.2: “Inform suppliers of what arrangements to make vis-à-vis customers when changing an old meter that exceptionally was part of a faulty series (that underestimated the reading) and led to complaints”

0- Follow-up to the recommendation

Implementation by ENEDIS in the 1st quarter of 2019.

Enedis sets great store by the quality of its metering data. This data is used by electricity suppliers to ensure accurate customer billing. Enedis carries out compliance tests on its meters. A metering fault can be detected during on-site maintenance (e.g. repairs, adjusting a circuit-breaker, etc.), at the request of a customer or the supplier. If a fault is detected, the distributor informs the customer and the supplier.

If an adjustment is needed after analysis by Enedis, the latter follows the procedures in force and corrects the usage data based on usage history. However, if no history is available, the customer’s usage is estimated on the basis of comparable supply points.

Enedis sends the customer and supplier a notification letter explaining the reasons for the rectified figures. The letter is sent along with a proposed evaluation of rectified usage in kWh.

1- Observation

In December 2017, the claimant queried the supplier ENGIE about his billing, in particular his recorded usage. The bill dated 4/12/2017 includes the electricity usage based on actual remote readings from 5/11/2016 to 7/11/2017 (off-peak hours reading between 569 kWh and 1,932 kWh and peak hours reading between 828 kWh and 3,259 kWh). This bill is based on readings taken by a LINKY meter fitted in June 2016. The billed electricity usage does not match usage observed in the past, and the claimant therefore questioned the accuracy of the fitted meter.

2- Mediation solution

In June 2016, as part of the national meter modernization programme, a service provider for distributor ENEDIS visited the claimant’s home to remove the meter (showing an off-peak hours reading of 09,586 and a peak hours reading of 13,265) and fit a Linky meter (with zero readings: 00,000/00,000). With regard to usage, the claimant’s meter was read twice a year up to June 2016 then every month from June 2016 (when the Linky meter was fitted).
From 2012 to October 2016, annual average usage was steady at around 10 kWh per day, without any seasonal variations between winter and summer. This stability of usage was confirmed during the 4 months following the fitting of the Linky meter. However, from November 2016, an increase in annual average usage was observed (14 kWh per day), concentrated in 2 winter periods (2016/2017 and 2017/2018), whereas average usage in the summer period was slightly lower than that observed in previous years. The stability of summer usage eliminates any suspicion of a faulty meter. This is because a meter cannot malfunction intermittently. Furthermore, such seasonal variations in usage can be explained by intentional or unintentional changes in usage patterns or equipment (heating appliances in particular in winter).
The old meter replaced with a LINKY model underestimated usage. The meter was part of a faulty series. However, neither the distributor nor the supplier explained this meter fault to the claimant, which would have enabled the matter to understand why usage increased with the new LINKY meter. The distributor did not pass on this information to the supplier.
The supplier ENGIE’s bill is correct and was based on accurate readings. Therefore, with regard to this mediation process, the supplier offered the claimant a free payment plan over 10 months to settle the bill dated 4/12/2017, as well as compensation for the inconvenience caused.

3- Generic observation

When changing a faulty meter known by the manufacturer to present a risk of underestimating
usage, the distributor should warn the supplier, who would then be able to inform its customer of the risk of underestimation. When a new meter is installed, it restores a “normal” level of consumption, which is probably higher than the level indicated by the old meter due to its structural defect.

4- Recommendation / Generic solution

The distributors (GRDF or ENEDIS) should send suppliers the list of meters publicly acknowledged as presenting a risk of underestimation by their manufacturers, to enable the suppliers to inform their customers in the event of complaints. In effect, when the new meter is installed, in all likelihood the customer will notice an increase in billed usage. The ENGIE Group’s Mediation service recommends that no adjustments should be billed solely in this case, for the period of operation of the meter known to be part of a faulty series.

The website mediateur-engie.com uses cookies to offer services and collect statistical data. If you continue browsing the website you accept them. More information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.

Close

Recommandation 8.2-2018

Recommandation 8.2 : “Informer les fournisseurs des dispositions à prendre vis-à-vis des clients lors du changement d’un compteur ancien et appartenant exceptionnellement à une série défectueuse (qui sous-compte) et source de réclamation”

0- Suivi de la recommandation

Mise en œuvre chez ENEDIS dès le 1er trimestre 2019.

Enedis est attaché à la qualité des données de comptage. En effet, ces données sont utilisées par les fournisseurs d’électricité et permettent une facturation fiable pour le client. Enedis réalise des contrôles de conformité des compteurs. La détection d’une anomalie de comptage peut être faite suite à une intervention sur site (ex : dépannage, réglage disjoncteur, etc.), à la demande d’un client ou du fournisseur. En cas d’anomalie avérée, le distributeur informe le client et le fournisseur.
Si après analyse d’Enedis une rectification est nécessaire, alors Enedis respecte les procédures en vigueur, et réalise la correction des consommations à partir d’un historique de consommation. Si toutefois aucun historique n’est disponible, la consommation du client est estimée à partir d’un niveau de consommation basé sur des points de livraisons comparables.
Enedis adresse un courrier d’information au client et au fournisseur qui expose les motifs de la rectification. Ce courrier est accompagné d’une proposition d’évaluation des consommations rectifiées en kWh.

1- Constat

En décembre 2017, le requérant interroge le fournisseur ENGIE au sujet de sa facturation et notamment au sujet de la consommation enregistrée. La facture émise le 4/12/2017 comptabilise la consommation d’électricité des index réels télérelevés du 5/11/2016 au 7/11/2017 (index HC de 569 kWh à 1 932 kWh et index HP de 828 kWh à 3 259 kWh). Cette facture repose sur les consommations relevées par un compteur LINKY installé en juin 2016. Les consommations d’électricité facturées ne correspondent pas à celles observées dans le passé, le requérant met en doute la fiabilité du compteur installé.

2- Solution de la médiation

En juin 2016, dans le cadre du programme national de modernisation des compteurs, un prestataire du distributeur ENEDIS intervient au domicile du requérant afin de procéder à la dépose du compteur (aux index 09 586 en Heures Creuses et 13 265 en Heures Pleines) et à la pose d’un compteur Linky (aux index 00 000/00 000). Concernant les consommations, le compteur du requérant a été relevé 2 fois par an jusqu’en juin 2016, puis tous les mois à partir de juin 2016 (date de la pose du compteur Linky).
De 2012 à octobre 2016, la consommation moyenne annuelle est stable, autour de 10 kWh/jour, et ce, sans variation saisonnière entre les périodes Hiver / Eté. Cette stabilité de la consommation se confirme au cours des 4 mois qui suivent la pose du compteur Linky. Toutefois, à partir de novembre 2016, une hausse de la consommation moyenne annuelle (14 kWh par jour) est constatée, concentrée sur les 2 périodes hivernales 2016/2017 et 2017/2018, alors que la consommation moyenne en période estivale s’avère légèrement inférieure à celle des années précédentes. La stabilité des consommations estivales permet d’éliminer toute suspicion de défaillance du compteur. En effet, un compteur ne peut dysfonctionner par intermittence. De plus, de telles évolutions saisonnières de consommation peuvent s’expliquer par des changements (volontaires ou pas) d’habitudes de consommation ou d’équipements (de chauffage en particulier pour les périodes hivernales).
Le compteur ancien changé par un modèle LINKY sous-comptait. Ce compteur appartenait à une série défectueuse. Cependant, ni le distributeur, ni le fournisseur n’ont expliqué au requérant cette défaillance du compteur qui lui aurait permis de comprendre l’augmentation des consommations avec le nouveau compteur LINKY. Le distributeur n’a pas communiqué cette information au fournisseur.
La facture du fournisseur ENGIE est correcte, elle a été émise sur des index fiables. Ainsi, dans le cadre de cette médiation, le fournisseur a proposé au requérant un plan de paiement gratuit sur 10 mois pour le règlement de la facture du 4/12/2017 ainsi qu’un dédommagement pour la gêne occasionnée.

3- Constat générique

Lors du changement d’un compteur défectueux et reconnu comme présentant un risque de sous-comptage par le fabricant, le distributeur devrait en alerter le fournisseur qui serait alors en position de pouvoir informer son client du risque de sous-comptage. En effet, l’installation d’un nouveau compteur rétablit un niveau de consommation « normal », mais dont la valeur sera probablement supérieure à celle donnée par l’ancien compteur du fait de sa défaillance structurelle.

4- Recommandation / Solution générique

Le distributeur (GRDF ou ENEDIS) devrait indiquer aux fournisseurs la liste des compteurs qui ont été reconnus publiquement comme présentant un risque de sous-comptage par les fabricants afin que ces derniers puissent informer leurs clients en cas de réclamation. En effet, il est probable qu’une fois la situation rétablie (mise en place d’un nouveau compteur), le client constate une augmentation de ses consommations facturées. La Médiation du groupe ENGIE préconise qu’aucun redressement ne soit facturé dans ce seul cas sur la période de fonctionnement du compteur identifié comme faisant partie d’une série défectueuse.

Le site mediateur-engie.com utilise des cookies pour réaliser des statistiques d’audience afin de proposer des contenus et services adaptés aux intérêts de ses visiteurs. En utilisant notre site, vous acceptez l’utilisation des cookies. More information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.

En savoir plus