Recommandation 8.1-2018

Recommendation 8.1: “Inform suppliers of what arrangements to make vis-à-vis customers when changing an old meter that exceptionally was part of a faulty series (that underestimated the reading) and led to complaints”

0- Follow-up to the recommendation

Implementation by GRDF in the 1st quarter of 2019.

1- Observation

After the claimant’s gas meter was changed by distributor GRDF, he disputed his gas usage as shown on the new meter. He even claimed that the meter may have been tampered with: “… the technician who changed my meter may have added 1,000 m3 of gas when he fitted the new one.”

2- Mediation solution

The meter was changed because it was potentially part of a faulty series liable to underestimate the reading. Distributor GRDF then undertook to change the meters of this series. However, the distributor was not proactive enough vis-à-vis the supplier, which did not know exactly which meters underestimated their readings, it only suspected that this was the case.
So without first questioning the distributor, the supplier and the customer did not have enough information to understand this rise in usage.
The ENGIE Group’s Mediation service considered that this information should have been provided to the claimant, to explain why his usage was apparently higher than that of the old meter. In other respects there is no need to propose an adjustment of usage due to the old meter underestimating it.

3- Generic observation

When changing a faulty meter known by the manufacturer to present a risk of underestimating
usage, the distributor should warn the supplier, who would then be able to inform its customer of the risk of underestimation. When a new meter is installed, it restores a “normal” level of consumption, which is probably higher than the level indicated by the old meter due to its structural defect.

4- Recommendation / Generic solution

The distributors (GRDF or ENEDIS) should send suppliers the list of meters publicly acknowledged as presenting a risk of underestimation by their manufacturers, to enable the suppliers to inform their customers in the event of complaints. In effect, when the new meter is installed, in all likelihood the customer will notice an increase in billed usage. The ENGIE Group’s Mediation service recommends that no adjustments should be billed solely in this case, for the period of operation of the meter known to be part of a faulty series.

The website mediateur-engie.com uses cookies to offer services and collect statistical data. If you continue browsing the website you accept them. More information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.

Close

Recommandation 8.1-2018

Recommandation 8.1 : “Informer les fournisseurs des dispositions à prendre vis-à-vis des clients lors du changement d’un compteur ancien et appartenant exceptionnellement à une série défectueuse (qui sous-compte) et source de réclamation”

0- Suivi de la recommandation

Mise en œuvre par GRDF dès le 1er trimestre 2019.

1- Constat

Le requérant conteste, après le changement de son compteur gaz par le distributeur GRDF, ses consommations de gaz lues par le nouveau compteur. Il évoque même une manipulation sur le compteur : « … le technicien ayant changé mon compteur aurait ajouté 1 000 m3 de gaz lors de l’installation ».

2- Solution de la médiation

Le changement de compteur a été motivé par l’appartenance du compteur à une série potentiellement défectueuse, susceptible de sous compter. Le distributeur GRDF a, alors, entrepris de changer les compteurs de cette série. Cependant, le distributeur n’a pas été pro actif vis-à-vis du fournisseur n’ayant pas la connaissance exacte des compteurs qui sous comptait mais uniquement une suspicion.
Aussi, le fournisseur et le client n’avait pas, sans avoir interrogé au préalable le distributeur, les éléments leur permettant de comprendre cette hausse.
La Médiation du Groupe ENGIE a considéré que cette information aurait due être transmise au requérant, pour permettre de lui expliquer alors pourquoi sa consommation était en apparence supérieure à celle de l’ancien compteur. Il n’y a pas eu lieu de proposer par ailleurs de redressement de consommation du fait du sous-comptage de l’ancien compteur.

3- Constat générique

Lors du changement d’un compteur défectueux et reconnu comme présentant un risque de sous-comptage par le fabricant, le distributeur devrait en alerter le fournisseur qui serait alors en position de pouvoir informer son client du risque de sous-comptage. En effet, l’installation d’un nouveau compteur rétablit un niveau de consommation « normal », mais dont la valeur sera probablement supérieure à celle donnée par l’ancien compteur du fait de sa défaillance structurelle.

4- Recommandation / Solution générique

Les distributeurs (GRDF ou ENEDIS) devraient indiquer aux fournisseurs la liste des compteurs qui ont été reconnus publiquement comme présentant un risque de sous-comptage par les fabricants afin que ces derniers puissent informer leurs clients en cas de réclamation. En effet, il est probable qu’une fois la situation rétablie (mise en place d’un nouveau compteur), le client constate une augmentation de ses consommations facturées. La Médiation du Groupe ENGIE préconise qu’aucun redressement ne soit facturé dans ce seul cas sur la période de fonctionnement du compteur identifié comme faisant partie d’une série défectueuse.

Le site mediateur-engie.com utilise des cookies pour réaliser des statistiques d’audience afin de proposer des contenus et services adaptés aux intérêts de ses visiteurs. En utilisant notre site, vous acceptez l’utilisation des cookies. More information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.

En savoir plus