Recommandation 6-2018

Recommendation 6: “In cases of inheritance, tenancy in common or divorce, etc., the supplier must ascertain the legitimacy of the person requesting any action on a contract (opening, closing, changing)”

0- Follow-up to the recommendation

Suppliers ENGIE Grand Public and ENGIE Tarif Réglementé will remind their advisers of the relevant instructions in this respect in 2019. A portal for notaries is being prepared and will be tested in two departments with a view to rolling it out nationwide by the end of 2019.

At ENGIE Gaz Tarif Réglementé:

– as a result, the professional instruction for handling an administrative change request was improved in October 2018 and was notified to the Customer Service.
– The admissibility of the claimant in the event of a “deceased contracting party” is specified, and the treatment is differentiated for each situation in a guided process: Spouse or co-contracting party, family third party, notary.

1- Observation

The claimant’s mother died in August 2017. The claimant cancelled his mother’s gas supply contract, backed up by the death certificate. One month later, his sister requested the contract to be resumed in her brother’s dwelling in her mother’s name, on the grounds of co-ownership. Her brother disputed this and refused to pay the bills.
As these successors in title disagreed, the estate was frozen by the notary, and as settlement thereof risked being a lengthy process, he stated than the bills would be paid on liquidation. The son did not want to cancel the contract because he did not want to endorse it, whereas the daughter wanted the contract to be maintained, and ENGIE was not paid.
The mediation service closed the case as it lacked jurisdiction to settle a private dispute. The supplier requested disconnection.

2- Mediation solution

Place an alert on a case closed on the grounds of death so as not to reopen it without a guarantee: seek the agreement of the person appointed to settle the estate.

3- Generic observation

When a third party requests a change to a contract such as termination, no proof of the person’s legitimacy with regard to the contract is requested, which can lead to disputes. In fact, the requesting party may not have the requisite legitimacy to make any such changes.

4- Recommendation / Generic solution

Put in place safeguards in the event of divorce, inheritance or tenancy in common. In such cases, advisers must ask the requesting party whenever possible to provide proof of their legitimacy. For instance: ask questions on the context, ask for a certificate, commitment boxes to tick, etc.

The website mediateur-engie.com uses cookies to offer services and collect statistical data. If you continue browsing the website you accept them. More information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.

Close

Recommandation 6-2018

Recommandation 6 : “En cas de succession, indivision, divorce… le fournisseur doit s’assurer de la légitimité du demandeur pour faire une demande d’action sur un contrat (ouverture, fermeture, évolution)”

0- Suivi de la recommandation

Les fournisseurs ENGIE Grand Public et ENGIE Tarif Réglementé vont rappeler des consignes métiers sur ce sujet auprès de leurs conseillers en 2019. Un portail dédié aux notaires est en cours d’élaboration et sera testé sur deux départements en vue d’une généralisation sur tout le territoire d’ici fin 2019.
Chez ENGIE Gaz Tarif Réglementé :
– La consigne métier de traitement d’une demande de modification administrative a du coup été renforcée en octobre 2018 et a fait l’objet d’une information au Service client,
– La recevabilité du demandeur en cas de « titulaire décédé » est distinguée et le traitement différencié par situation dans un parcours guidé : Conjoint ou co-titulaire du contrat, Tiers familial, Notaire.

1- Constat

La mère du requérant est décédée en aout 2017. Ce dernier résilie le contrat de fourniture gaz du logement de sa mère, certificat de décès à l’appui. Un mois après, sa sœur demande la réouverture du contrat au nom de sa mère, sous le sceau de l’indivision, situé au logement de son frère. Ce dernier conteste cette réouverture et ne veut pas payer les factures.
Les ayant-droit ne s’entendant pas, la succession est bloquée chez le notaire et risque d’être longue, il indique que les factures seront payées à la liquidation. Dans le même temps, le fils ne veut pas résilier pour ne pas cautionner le contrat pris, tandis que la fille préfère que le contrat soit maintenu, et ENGIE n’est pas payé.
La Médiation a clôturé le dossier en raison d’un défaut de compétence pour régler un litige privé. Le fournisseur demande la coupure.

2- Proposition de solution de la médiation

Mettre une alerte dans le cas d’un dossier clôturé pour décès afin de ne pas le réouvrir sans garantie : demander l’accord de la personne désignée pour gérer la succession.

3- Constat générique

Lorsqu’un tiers formule une demande de modification contractuelle comme la résiliation d’un contrat d’énergie, aucune preuve de sa légitimité au regard du contrat ne lui est demandée, ce qui peut occasionner des litiges. En effet, le demandeur pourrait ne pas avoir la légitimité requise pour effectuer ces actions.

4- Recommandation/ Solution générique

Mettre en place des éléments de sécurisation dans le cas de divorce, succession, indivision.
Dans ces cas, les conseillers doivent interroger le demandeur sur sa légitimité, et lui demander dans la mesure du possible de rapporter la preuve de celle-ci.
Par exemple : poser des questions sur le contexte, demander une attestation, cases d’engagement à cocher…

Le site mediateur-engie.com utilise des cookies pour réaliser des statistiques d’audience afin de proposer des contenus et services adaptés aux intérêts de ses visiteurs. En utilisant notre site, vous acceptez l’utilisation des cookies. More information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.

En savoir plus