Recommandation 5-2018

Recommendation 5: “On a bimonthly bill, the wording in the ‘Your billed usage’ box on the first page is incorrect in some cases”

0- Follow-up to the recommendation

This claim has been under investigation since 2018, and DTP changes have been made that as of March 2019 have not enabled ENGIE Grand Public and ENGIE Tarif Réglementé to plan their modifications.

1- Observation

The claimant did not understand and contested the usage billed over two months stated on the first page of his bimonthly energy bill in the box ‘Your billed usage’. This information caused dissatisfaction with the customer, who questioned the good working order of the meter.

2- Mediation solution

After analysis of the file, the Mediation team found that the consumption indicated on the first page of the energy bill resulted from a calculation. This corresponded to the difference in billed energy consumption between two meter readings, 6 months apart, from which the consumption estimates billed between these two readings were subtracted. It was therefore a consumption balance which was due and to be billed, as stipulated by the suppliers General Terms of Sale. The Mediation service therefore told the claimant that this sentence should be understood as “… you are being billed for x kWh …” instead of “… you have used x kWh …”. This explanation made it possible to resolve the claimant’s doubt about his consumption after the mediation team provided the proof by sending a detailed calculation note.

3- Generic observation

For a customer billed bimonthly, on the half-yearly bill issued when the distributor reads the meter (every 6 months), the usage stated on the first page of this energy bill in the “Your billed usage” box does not match the actual usage in the period concerned. This can confuse the customer and casts doubt on the good working order of the meter.

4- Recommendation / Generic solution

A bimonthly bill based on an actual meter reading states in the box headed “Your billed usage” a usage matching the balance of usage owed for a six-month period. Therefore the box “Your billed usage” on the first page of the bimonthly bill must be correctly worded, in other words, “… you are being billed for x kWh …” instead of “… you have consumed x kWh …”.

The website mediateur-engie.com uses cookies to offer services and collect statistical data. If you continue browsing the website you accept them. More information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.

Close

Recommandation 5-2018

Recommandation 5 : “Pour une facturation bimestrielle, le libellé dans le pavé de la première page ‘vos consommations facturées’ est incorrect dans certains cas”

0- Suivi de la recommandation

La demande est en cours d’instruction depuis 2018, laquelle génère des développements éditiques qui n’ont pas permis à mars 2019 de planifier les modifications pour les directions ENGIE Grand Public et ENGIE Tarif Réglementé.

1- Constat

Le requérant ne comprend pas et conteste les consommations facturées sur deux mois et indiquées sur la première page de sa facture bimestrielle d’énergie dans le pavé ‘ Vos consommations facturées’. Cette information génère chez le client de l’insatisfaction : il met en doute le bon fonctionnement de son compteur.

2- Solution de la médiation

Après analyse de son dossier, la Médiation constate que la consommation indiquée sur la première page de la facture d’énergie résulte d’un calcul. Celui-ci correspond à la différence des consommations d’énergie facturées entre deux relevés d’index, à 6 mois d’intervalle, duquel sont retranchées les estimations de consommations facturées entre ces deux relevés. Il s’agit donc d’un solde de consommations à devoir et à facturer, méthode conforme aux contrats (Conditions Générales de Vente du fournisseur. La Médiation a ainsi indiqué au requérant que cette phrase devait être comprise comme « … vous êtes facturé de x kWh … » au lieu de « …vous avez consommé x kWh … ». Cette explication a permis de lever le doute chez le requérant au sujet de ses consommations après que la médiation ait apporté la preuve en fournissant une note de calcul détaillé.

3- Constat générique

Pour un client en facturation bimestrielle, sur la facture semestrielle émise lors d’une relève réelle par le distributeur (tous les 6 mois), les consommations indiquées sur la première page de cette facture d’énergie, dans le pavé ‘Vos consommations facturées’ ne correspondent pas à la consommation réelle de la période concernée. Cette information peut générer de la confusion chez le client et met en doute le bon fonctionnement du compteur.

4- Recommandation / Solution générique

La facture bimestrielle émise à la suite d’une relève réelle indique dans l’encadré « Vos consommations facturées » une consommation qui correspond à un solde de consommation à devoir pour une période de 6 mois. Ainsi, l’encadré « Vos consommations facturées », sur la première page de la facture bimestrielle, doit être correctement libellé, c’est-à-dire indiquer « … vous êtes facturé de x kWh … » au lieu de « … vous avez consommé x kWh … ».

Le site mediateur-engie.com utilise des cookies pour réaliser des statistiques d’audience afin de proposer des contenus et services adaptés aux intérêts de ses visiteurs. En utilisant notre site, vous acceptez l’utilisation des cookies. More information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.

En savoir plus