Recommandation 4-2018

Recommendation 4: “With regard to door-todoor selling, the supplier must ascertain that its customers have the legal capacity to contract”

0- Follow-up to the recommendation

ENGIE Grand Public has planned to update its Supplementary Terms of Sale in late May or early June 2019.

1- Observation

The claimant referred a matter to the Mediation service in her capacity as the guardian of a customer. During a door-to-door selling visit by an ENGIE DGP subcontractor, the lady customer took out a contract with supplier ENGIE. But she did not have the legal capacity to do so, as she was protected by her guardian. The contract could only be signed by her guardian, as provided for by law.

2- Mediation solution

At the request of the Mediator, supplier ENGIE cancelled the contract. The related billing was naturally cancelled, and the supplier was not allowed to bill usage for the period from the start of the subscription to its cancellation.
After the usage billed under the contract was cancelled, the costs of activation and cancellation and the costs of the customer’s subscription were also cancelled. The supplier ENGIE acknowledged the error relating to the customer’s capacity to contract.

3- Generic observation

With regard to door-to-door selling, the selling process implemented, and more particularly the ENGIE supplier’s Supplementary Terms of Sale, does not include any clauses protecting vulnerable persons. In this particular case, there is no clause ascertaining whether the Customer is under legal wardship or guardianship. Any contract entered into by a person not having legal capacity is null and void. The nullity of the contract entails its retroactive disappearance; the supplier must then cancel all issued bills and reimburse the customer.

4- Recommendation / Generic solution

The supplier must improve its selling process by raising salespersons’ awareness of the risk of a customer being placed under legal wardship or guardianship. The supplier must also modify its Supplementary Terms of Sale to enable it to ascertain the customer’s legal capacity to contract without the downstream of a potential guardian. Although the risks of nullity remains, this process will allow the supplier to provide evidence of its good faith if suspected of abuse of weakness.

The website mediateur-engie.com uses cookies to offer services and collect statistical data. If you continue browsing the website you accept them. More information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.

Close

Recommandation 4-2018

Recommandation 4 : “Dans le cadre d’un démarchage à domicile, le fournisseur doit s’assurer de la capacité de ses clients à contracter”

0- Suivi de la recommandation

ENGIE Grand Public a prévu la mise à jour des CPV fin mai / début juin 2019.

1- Constat

La requérante a saisi la Médiation en sa qualité de tutrice de la cliente. En effet, lors d’un démarchage à domicile par un sous-traitant d’ENGIE DGP, la cliente a souscrit un contrat auprès du fournisseur ENGIE. Mais elle n’en avait pas la capacité juridique, car elle était protégée par une mise sous tutelle. Le contrat ne pouvait être signé que par sa tutrice, comme cela est légalement prévu.

2- Solution de la médiation

A la demande du Médiateur, le fournisseur ENGIE a annulé le contrat. La facturation correspondante a naturellement été annulée, sans possibilité pour le fournisseur de pouvoir facturer la consommation sur la période allant du début de cette souscription à son annulation.
Suite à l’annulation de la facturation des consommations émise dans le cadre de l’exécution du contrat, les frais liés à la mise en service et à la résiliation ainsi que les coûts d’abonnement de la cliente ont été annulés. Le fournisseur ENGIE a reconnu l’erreur portant sur la capacité de la cliente à contracter.

3- Constat générique

Dans le cadre d’un démarchage à domicile, le process de vente mis en œuvre, et plus particulièrement les Conditions Particulières de Vente du fournisseur ENGIE, ne comportent pas d’éléments propres à la protection des personnes vulnérables. Dans le cas présent, aucune clause ne permet en effet de vérifier l’existence d’un éventuel placement sous tutelle ou curatelle renforcée du client. Le contrat conclu par une personne qui ne dispose pas de sa capacité à contracter encourt la nullité. La nullité du contrat entraine sa disparition rétroactive, le fournisseur doit alors annuler l’ensemble de la facturation émise et restituer les sommes encaissées.

4- Recommandation / Solution générique

Le fournisseur doit améliorer son process de vente en sensibilisant ses vendeurs au risque d’un client placé sous tutelle ou curatelle renforcée. Le fournisseur doit également modifier ses Conditions Particulières de Vente pour lui permettre de tracer la capacité du client à s’engager contractuellement, sans l’aval d’un potentiel tuteur. Bien que le risque de nullité reste présent, ce process permettra au fournisseur d’apporter un élément de preuve de sa bonne foi, en cas de suspicion d’abus de faiblesse.

Le site mediateur-engie.com utilise des cookies pour réaliser des statistiques d’audience afin de proposer des contenus et services adaptés aux intérêts de ses visiteurs. En utilisant notre site, vous acceptez l’utilisation des cookies. More information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.

En savoir plus