Recommandation 14-2018

Recommendation 14: “If a boiler constantly breaks down in wintry conditions, whenever possible spontaneously propose alternative back-up heating solutions”

0- Follow-up to the recommendation

In 2019, EHS will disseminate this good practice in all the regions.

1- Observation

The claimant is the owner of a flat in a commonhold. The commonhold’s management company had signed an annual maintenance contract for the building’s individual boilers with ENGIE Home Services (EHS). Each owner directly manages relations with EHS regarding annual maintenance and maintenance requests, and pays his share of the annual performance review in his service charges.
The claimant’s boiler had broken down and was out of service from mid-September to the end of January, even though he lives in a cold region. EHS had attempted about ten times to repair the boiler before finally succeeding. As the claimant could not stay in his home without heating, and as EHS had not offered any alternative solution, the claimant unilaterally decided to rent other accommodation, which lengthened his journey to and from work. On that basis he claimed compensation.

2- Mediation solution

ENGIE Home Services should not have left the claimant without any alternative solution throughout that period; at the very least it and should have offered a temporary heating solution during the wintry period, in conjunction with the management company. And the claimant should have informed EHS of his need for alternative accommodation and the cost thereof, and should have requested total or partial funding thereof by EHS before deciding unilaterally to implement his alternative solution.
The solution proposed by the mediation service consisted in asking EHS to cover the cost of several months’ accommodation on the basis of the local monthly rental price and not the monthly rent he actually paid, which was significantly higher. The research carried out by the mediation service showed that one could easily find accommodation on the basis of the monthly compensation offered. In this exceptional case, the EHS agency also offered to refund the annual contract amount for 2017 (paid to the management company for this flat) to make up for the unsatisfactory service.
Furthermore, the claimant agreed to settle the sludge removal bill, on the basis of a quotation he had signed. This intervention, which was correctly carried out by EHS, helped to complete the repairs of the installation.

3- Generic observation

A technician may not be able to repair a boiler on his first call-out (several breakdowns, old boiler and long lead times to source spare parts, etc.). In such cases, ENGIE Home Services can present the measures it can offer in the heating period to help the claimant maintain a minimum level of comfort.

4- Recommendation / Generic solution

For maintenance work in winter, present alternative heating solution in the event of a long unresolved breakdown (convector heater, accommodation, standard replacement of new equipment, etc.).

The website mediateur-engie.com uses cookies to offer services and collect statistical data. If you continue browsing the website you accept them. More information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.

Close

Recommandation 14-2018

Recommandation 14 : “En cas de panne persistante de chaudière en condition hivernale, proposer spontanément, à chaque fois que cela est possible, des solutions de chauffage d’appoint alternatives”

0- Suivi de la recommandation

Sur 2019, EHS va s’assurer de la diffusion de cette bonne pratique sur l’ensemble des régions.

1- Constat

Le requérant est propriétaire de son logement dans une résidence. Le syndic pour le compte de la copropriété a signé avec ENGIE Home Services (EHS) un contrat d’entretien annuel des chaudières individuelles de l’immeuble. Chaque propriétaire gère directement sa relation avec EHS pour l’entretien annuel et les demandes d’intervention, et paie sa quote-part de l’entretien annuel dans ses charges.
Le requérant a été en panne de chaudière de mi-septembre à fin janvier, alors qu’il habite en zone froide. EHS est intervenu une dizaine de fois, sur une longue période, avant de pourvoir résoudre la panne. Le requérant, ne pouvant rester chez lui sans chauffage et EHS ne lui ayant pas proposé de solution, a décidé seul de louer un logement, avec un allongement de sa durée de trajet pour aller travailler. Il a alors demandé un dédommagement.

2- Solution de la médiation

ENGIE Home Services n’aurait pas dû laisser le requérant durant toute cette période sans lui proposer à minima une aide temporaire pour avoir une solution de chauffage pendant la période hivernale, en lien avec le syndic. Et le requérant aurait dû informer EHS de la nécessité de se reloger, de son coût et demander une prise en charge total ou partiel par EHS avant de décider de mettre en œuvre son alternative.
La solution de la médiation a consisté par la prise en charge par EHS d’un certain nombre de mois d’hébergement, sur la base d’un montant mensuel correspond au prix du marché immobilier local, et non de son loyer mensuel réellement payé, qui était significativement supérieur. Les recherches effectuées par la médiation montrent qu’il était possible de se loger facilement sur la base du dédommagement mensuel proposé. L’agence EHS a également proposé, dans ce cas exceptionnel, de rembourser le montant du contrat annuel de l’année 2017 (contrat réglé au syndic pour ce logement) pour l’insatisfaction liée à la prestation.
Par ailleurs, le requérant a accepté de régler la facture de désembouage, sur la base d’un devis qu’il avait signé. Cette intervention correctement effectuée par EHS avait contribué au dépannage complet de l’installation.

3- Constat générique

Il est possible qu’une panne ne puisse pas être réparée à la première intervention (plusieurs pannes, chaudière ancienne et délais longs pour avoir les pièces de rechange, etc.). Dans ce cas, ENGIE Home Services peut présenter les dispositions qu’il peut proposer en période de chauffe pour aider le requérant à maintenir un minimum de confort.

4- Recommandation / Solution générique

Lors de l’intervention de réparation en période hivernale, présenter les solutions alternatives de chauffage en cas de panne longue non résolue (convecteur d’appoint, hébergement, échange standard dans le cas d’un équipement neuf, etc.).

Le site mediateur-engie.com utilise des cookies pour réaliser des statistiques d’audience afin de proposer des contenus et services adaptés aux intérêts de ses visiteurs. En utilisant notre site, vous acceptez l’utilisation des cookies. More information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.

En savoir plus