Recommandation 1-2018

Recommendation 1: “Activate the electricity contract on an actual or customer meter reading”

0- Follow-up to the recommendation

On the 14th January 2018 Engie Grand Public issued an instruction to all customer advisers, reminding them of customer self-readings for electricity and gas.

1- Observation

The claimant disputes the electricity usage billed by ENGIE. He does not understand the rise in usage since he changed supplier.
The claimant had indeed switched over to ENGIE. The contract with the new supplier ENGIE was activated on the basis of an estimated meter reading.
In September 2017 the claimant received the first bill based on an actual meter reading, taken in August 2017. This bill led to a significant adjustment of consumption, as the last actual meter reading dated back to August 2015.

2- Mediation solution

As the distributor did not (or could not) take an actual reading in 2016, the supplier was obliged to apply the adjustment cap rule, as stipulated in the French energy transition law (LTE), which limits the supplier’s billing from the previous actual meter reading to 14 months. Therefore the adjustment could only apply to the 14 months preceding the meter reading of August 2017. Further to an agreement with the ENGIE Group’s Mediator, the case was transferred to the NEM (French National Energy Mediator), as the adjustment period concerned 2 suppliers. Had the new supplier ENGIE activated the contract on an actual meter reading, this would have avoided a significant adjustment in September 2017.

3- Generic observation

An electricity contract with the new supplier ENGIE was activated on an estimated meter reading in August 2016. But in September 2017 the claimant received the first bill based on an actual meter reading, read in August 2017. This bill led to a significant adjustment of consumption, as the last actual meter reading dated back to August 2015. This adjustment was however limited to 14 months, due to the applicability of the energy transition law. Further to an agreement with the ENGIE Group’s Mediator, the case was transferred to the Energy Mediator, as the adjustment period concerned 2 suppliers.

4- Recommendation / generic solution

For all new electricity contracts, even if this is not a legal obligation, ENGIE advisers should ask the consumer to take a meter reading (or have it taken by an ENEDIS technician), which would avoid subsequent adjustments.

The website mediateur-engie.com uses cookies to offer services and collect statistical data. If you continue browsing the website you accept them. More information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.

Close

Recommandation 1-2018

Recommandation 1 : “ Faire la mise en service du contrat d’électricité sur un index réel ou auto-relevé”

0- Suivi de la recommandation

Engie Grand Public a diffusé une consigne le 14/01/2018 auprès de l’ensemble des conseillers : rappel de consigne sur l’auto relève des clients pour l’électricité et la gaz.

1- Constat

Le requérant conteste les consommations d’électricité facturées par ENGIE. Il ne comprend pas la hausse de ses consommations depuis leur changement de fournisseur.
En effet, le requérant a changé de fournisseur pour ENGIE. La mise en service du contrat avec le nouveau fournisseur, ENGIE, s’est faite sur un index estimé.
En septembre 2017, le requérant reçoit une facture fondée sur un index réel, relevé en août 2017. Cette facture entraine un important redressement des consommations car le dernier index réel relevé daté d’août 2015.

2- Solution de la médiation

Le distributeur n’ayant pas fait (ou pu faire) de relevé réel au cours de l’année 2016, le fournisseur a été dans l’obligation d’appliquer la règle de plafonnement du redressement, inscrite dans la Loi de Transition Energétique (LTE) qui limite à 14 mois la facturation du fournisseur à partir du dernier index relevé. Ainsi, le redressement n’a été possible que sur les 14 mois précédents le relevé d’août 2017. Dans le cadre de la convention avec le Médiateur du Groupe ENGIE, le dossier a été transféré au MNE car la période de redressement concernait 2 fournisseurs. Le fait, pour le nouveau fournisseur ENGIE, de réaliser une mise en service sur un index réel aurait évité un redressement important intervenu en septembre 2017.

3- Constat générique

La mise en service d’un contrat d’électricité avec le nouveau fournisseur ENGIE, s’est faite sur un index estimé en août 2016. Or, en septembre 2017, le requérant reçoit la première facture fondée sur un index réel, relevé en août 2017. Cette facture entraine une importante régularisation des consommations car le dernier index réel relevé datait d’août 2015. Cette régularisation a toutefois été limitée à 14 mois du fait de l’application de la Loi de Transition Energétique. Dans le cadre de la convention avec le Médiateur du Groupe ENGIE, le dossier a été transféré au Médiateur de l’énergie car la période de redressement concernait 2 fournisseurs.

4- Recommandation / Solution générique

Pour toute souscription d’un nouveau contrat en électricité, bien que ce ne soit pas une obligation légale, il conviendrait que les conseillers d’ENGIE demandent au consommateur l’index réel autorelevé (voire relevé par un technicien ENEDIS), ce qui éviterait d’avoir recours à des régularisations postérieures.

Le site mediateur-engie.com utilise des cookies pour réaliser des statistiques d’audience afin de proposer des contenus et services adaptés aux intérêts de ses visiteurs. En utilisant notre site, vous acceptez l’utilisation des cookies. More information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.

En savoir plus