Recommandation 8-2018

Recommendation 8: “Inform suppliers of what arrangements to make vis-à-vis customers when changing an old meter that exceptionally was part of a faulty series (that underestimated the reading) and led to complaints”

0- Follow-up to the recommendation

The customer service of supplier ENGIE Gaz Tarif Réglementé will be made aware of possible rises in usage when meters are changed when such meters have been identified as faulty by GRDF.

1- Observation

Example 8.1 or 8.2 already dealt with.

2- Mediation solution

Example 8.1 or 8.2 already dealt with.

3- Generic observation

When changing a faulty meter known by the manufacturer to present a risk of underestimating
usage, the distributor should warn the supplier, who would then be able to inform its customer of the risk of underestimation. When a new meter is installed, it restores a “normal” level of consumption, which is probably higher than the level indicated by the old meter due to its structural defect.

4- Recommendation / Generic solution

The distributors (GRDF or ENEDIS) should send suppliers the list of meters publicly acknowledged as presenting a risk of underestimation by their manufacturers, to enable the suppliers to inform their customers in the event of complaints. In effect, when the new meter is installed, in all likelihood the customer will notice an increase in billed usage. The ENGIE Group’s Mediation service recommends that no adjustments should be billed solely in this case, for the period of operation of the meter known to be part of a faulty series.

The website mediateur-engie.com uses cookies to offer services and collect statistical data. If you continue browsing the website you accept them. More information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.

Close

Recommandation 8-2018

Recommandation 8 : “Informer les fournisseurs des dispositions à prendre vis-à-vis des clients lors du changement d’un compteur ancien et appartenant exceptionnellement à une série défectueuse (qui sous-compte) et source de réclamation”

0- Suivi de la recommandation

Le Service Client du fournisseur ENGIE Gaz Tarif Réglementé sera sensibilisé aux possibles hausses de consommations liées au changement des compteurs dès lors que ceux-ci sont identifiés défectueux par GRDF.

1- Constat

Exemple 8.1 ou 8.2

2- Solution de la médiation

Exemple 8.1 ou 8.2

3- Constat générique

Lors du changement d’un compteur défectueux et reconnu comme présentant un risque de sous-comptage par le fabricant, le distributeur devrait en alerter le fournisseur qui serait alors en position de pouvoir informer son client du risque de sous-comptage. En effet, l’installation d’un nouveau compteur rétablit un niveau de consommation « normal », mais dont la valeur sera probablement supérieure à celle donnée par l’ancien compteur du fait de sa défaillance structurelle.

4- Recommandation / Solution générique

Le distributeurs (GRDF ou ENEDIS) devraient indiquer aux fournisseurs la liste des compteurs qui ont été reconnus publiquement comme présentant un risque de sous-comptage par les fabricants afin que ces derniers puissent informer leurs clients en cas de réclamation. En effet, il est probable qu’une fois la situation rétablie (mise en place d’un nouveau compteur), le client constate une augmentation de ses consommations facturées. La Médiation du groupe ENGIE préconise qu’aucun redressement ne soit facturé dans ce seul cas sur la période de fonctionnement du compteur identifié comme faisant partie d’une série défectueuse.

Le site mediateur-engie.com utilise des cookies pour réaliser des statistiques d’audience afin de proposer des contenus et services adaptés aux intérêts de ses visiteurs. En utilisant notre site, vous acceptez l’utilisation des cookies. More information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.

En savoir plus