Recommandation 7-2018

Recommendation 7: “Allow input of a foreign telephone number as contact number for a customer in the supplier’s information system”

0- Follow-up to the recommendation

The country dialling code +33 is pre-stored in the information system of ENGIE Grand Public, ENGIE Gaz Tarif Réglementé and ENGIE Happe, and cannot be modified to date. Input of a foreign telephone number will be studied as part of a new customer-supplier management tool (planned for the end of 2019).

1- Observation

The customer took out an electricity supply contract for his second home in France, his habitual residence being located in the United Kingdom.No reading could be taken between 18 July 2016 and 6 March 2018, the date on which the customer took a reading. Further to a dispute about a bill, the supplier sent distributor ENEDIS a request for a visual check of the customer’s meter.
After several attempts to make an appointment, the customer travelled to his second home to enable the distributor to take a reading. However the distributor did not do so, as it was unable to contact the customer.

2- Mediation solution

During this case the Mediation service noticed that the telephone number entered by the customer when he took out the contract was a fax number. The customer could therefore not be contacted on that number. When the customer took out the contract with the supplier, he could not provide his English telephone number because the supplier’s web site only allowed French numbers to be entered.

3- Generic observation

The supplier’s information system can only store French telephone numbers (with the +33 country code). The supplier’s customers domiciled abroad can still be contacted by e-mail bot not by telephone. This can cause problems in relations with the distributor, in particular when making appointments for maintenance work.

4- Recommendation / Generic solution

The ENGIE Group’s Mediation service recommends that the supplier modifies its information system to allow customers to enter a foreign telephone number.

The website mediateur-engie.com uses cookies to offer services and collect statistical data. If you continue browsing the website you accept them. More information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.

Close

Recommandation 7-2018

Recommandation 7 : “Donner la possibilité de saisir un numéro de téléphone étranger comme numéro de contact d’un client dans le système d’information du fournisseur”

0- Suivi de la recommandation

L’indicatif +33 est pré-enregistré dans le système d’information d’ENGIE Grand Public, ENGIE Gaz Tarif Réglementé et ENGIE Happe et non modifiable à date. La collecte d’un numéro de téléphone étranger sera étudiée dans le cadre d’un nouveau outil de gestion client fournisseur (prévu fin 2019).

1- Constat

Le client a souscrit un contrat de fourniture d’électricité pour sa résidence secondaire en France, sa résidence principale étant située au Royaume-Uni.
Aucune relève n’a pu être effectué entre le 18 juillet 2016 et le 6 mars 2018, date d’un auto-relevé fourni par le client. Suite à la contestation d’une facture, le fournisseur transmet au distributeur, ENEDIS, une demande de vérification visuelle du compteur du client.
Après plusieurs tentatives de prise de rendez-vous le client se déplace dans sa résidence secondaire afin de permette un relevé par le distributeur. Celui-ci n’intervient néanmoins pas en raison d’une impossibilité de contacter le client.

2- Solution de la médiation

La Médiation constate, à l’occasion de la procédure, que le numéro enregistré par le client lors de la souscription de son contrat correspond à un numéro de fax. Le client est donc injoignable par ce biais. Lors de la souscription de son abonnement auprès du fournisseur, le client a en effet été dans l’impossibilité de communiquer son numéro anglais car le site internet du fournisseur permet d’enregistrer que des numéros français.

3- Constat générique

Le système d’information du fournisseur ne permet d’enregistrer que des numéros de téléphones français, avec l’indice téléphonique +33. Les clients du fournisseur domiciliés à l’étranger restent donc joignables par courriel mais aucun contact téléphonique n’est possible. Cette situation peut générer des difficultés au cours des relations avec le distributeur, notamment lors de prise de rendez-vous pour une intervention.

4- Recommandation / Solution générique

La Médiation du Groupe ENGIE recommande au fournisseur de modifier son système d’information afin de permettre au client de renseigner un numéro de téléphone étranger.

Le site mediateur-engie.com utilise des cookies pour réaliser des statistiques d’audience afin de proposer des contenus et services adaptés aux intérêts de ses visiteurs. En utilisant notre site, vous acceptez l’utilisation des cookies. More information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.

En savoir plus